Upright – Hip-Hop/Poetry

“Even in darkness light draws for the upright,
for the gracious and compassionate and righteous man.
He will have no fear of bad news; his heart is steadfast, trusting in the Lord.”
-Psalm 112:4, 7

The Lord tells me
Even in the darkness light draws for the upright
I wish I knew that when I woke up from last night
My back aches spine sore not sure from all the weight
Or was I curled up sheets a womb fetal afraid for my future’s sake

Was I late?
Too late in timing missed the twisting of my bones
Too late to escape the slouch that took the confidence I’d ever known?
After scraping crust off my eyes icey windshield in the winter
Epiphany flew in faster than Tom Cruise n’ Val Kilmer

Yes!

The gracious compassionate and righteous man indeed
Can be the key unlock the chest in every real man’s buried sea
Forfeit the mind’s yearn of dissecting rungs of the ladder
Love and do right for compassion is the fact of the greatest matter

Still!

Bad news flies at me in these times of humility
The enemy is knowingly
Rocking me
Off my steeze

No I won’t back down or fear of the worst condition
No I won’t forfeit the rights that in truth my King has given
No dark thoughts you cannot have all that you want
My morale ain’t a Golden Corral find another buffet to go hunt

What do I want?

I want a heart that un-relents remains beating
Steadfast to a promise a confidence soaring fleeting
I want to show love and cry for you in your time
My heart isn’t just for me it’s for you, for all time.

Written by: Michael “Bboy Roach1” Roach

Author: f3foranswers

A Christ-first B-boy, writer, and fitness-nut. Owner of the blog "F3 For Answers".

2 thoughts on “Upright – Hip-Hop/Poetry”

Leave a Reply

