Bridge – A Short Poem

I am a bridge
You step on me, but I was built to endure.

My beginning was built from the scraps
I was nothing but a tiny thing in the dirt
You probably stepped over me then, too.
That’s okay.

I am a bridge
You step on me, but I was built to endure.

Someone was kind enough to take my nothings
Cobble them together into this structure
Give me a purpose that is unique
A path that is put on me.

I am a bridge
You step on me, but I was built to endure.

I see other bridges sometimes
They might be shinier, or more “polished”
But when the wind blows; the storms crash
They topple.

I am a bridge
You step on me, but I don’t grumble.

My function is to connect with love
It’s to get one to another
To bridge the gap and give opportunities
In places unknown.

I am a bridge.
You step on me, and I am thankful.

Author: f3foranswers

A Christ-first B-boy, writer, and fitness-nut. Owner of the blog "F3 For Answers".

3 thoughts on “Bridge – A Short Poem”

Leave a Reply

